• 2022-23 Record: 0-0
  • 8-time NCAA National Champions
  • 5-time ITA National Indoor Champions
  • 6 NCAA Singles Titles
  • 5 NCAA Doubles Titles
  • 41 Individual All-Americans

NATIONAL CHAMPIONS - Emory Women's Tennis Blanks Wesleyan to Capture Title

NATIONAL CHAMPIONS - Emory Women's Tennis Blanks Wesleyan to Capture Title

For the first time since 2016 and for the eighth time in program history, the Emory University women's tennis team has been crowned the NCAA Division III national champions!!

The Eagles thoroughly dominated from start to finish Wednesday's championship match, defeating the reigning national champions Wesleyan University by the count of 5-0 at the Champions Tennis Club in Chattanooga, TN. The match lasted just over the two-hour mark.

Senior Ysabel Gonzalez-Rico and junior Jessica Fatemi clinched the match moments apart on courts one and six with straight set victories. Gonzalez-Rico was the first the finish as she dropped one game total with her 6-1, 6-0 win over Venia Yeung. Minutes later, Fatemi closed out her clinching win over Caitlin Goldberg,winning 6-0, 6-2.



The singles victories followed an Emory doubles sweep that took only 50 minutes to complete. Gonzalez-Rico and teammate Katie Chang quickly posted an 8-1 win on court one before Ana Cristina Perez and Lauren Yoon finished off an 8-4 win on court three. Christina Watson and Stephanie Taylor completed the trifecta as they were 8-2 winners at the second doubles position.

At the conclusion of the match, the Eagles held leads in three of the four remaining singles matches with Watson in front 6-1, 2-3 on court two, Taylor leading 6-4, 1-2 on court three and Perez 6-4, 2-0 on court four.

This year's squad joins the 1996, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2014 and 2016 Emory teams to win national titles in women's tennis. It also marks the 28th overall national championship in the history of the department.

Emory closes out a year like no other with a 10-3 overall record while the loss was the first for the Cardinals as they finish 10-1.