• 2018 Record: 20-18; 11-5 UAA
  • 2018 National Ranks: NR
  • 6 World Series Berths
  • 13 UAA Championships
  • 11 ABCA All-Americans
  • 4 D3Baseball.com All-Americans

Emory Baseball Lands 17 on UAA 30th Anniversary Team

Photo Credit - Maureen Maldari
Photo Credit - Maureen Maldari


17 current and former members of the Emory University Baseball program were among the 50 total student athletes honored on the University Athletic Association All-Association 30th Anniversary Baseball Team, as announced by the conference on Tuesday. The 17 were the most selected by any institution.

The team consists of each student-athlete who was named Most Valuable Player/Player of the Year or accumulated five or more points with two points awarded for All-Association first-team recognition, and one point for second-team honors in his career. All-Tournament designation, an additional award that began in 2009, is based solely on tournament competition and was not considered for this award.

Among the 17 Eagles honored, 11 garnered MVP acclaim during their career: Doug Markott (1994), Andy Atkins (1995), Drew Schwartz (2001), Andrew Pinckney and Rob Segear (2004), David Hissey (2006), Jason Glushon (2007), Frank Pfister (2008), Steve Bralver (2009), Brett Lake (2014), and Billy Dimlow (2017).

In addition, Andrew Cohn (2008-11) and Brandon Hannon (2011-14) were two of eight players that were four-time All-UAA selections.

Mike Garvis, Bryan Langbord, Chris McAuley and Brad Wands round out the Emory honorees while Markott is the lone Eagle who is a member of the Emory Sports Hall of Fame.

In 30 years of UAA competition, the Eagles have been crowned conference champions a league-best 13 times, most recently in 2015. Emory has also advanced to the NCAA Division III World Series six times including runner-up finishes in 2007 and 2014.