• ITA National Ranking: #5
  • 8-time NCAA National Champions
  • 5-time ITA National Indoor Champions
  • 6 NCAA Singles Titles
  • 5 NCAA Doubles Titles
  • 41 Individual All-Americans

Women’s Tennis Falls to Chicago, 5-4, in UAA Championship Match

Women’s Tennis Falls to Chicago, 5-4, in UAA Championship Match

The Emory University women's tennis program fell in the UAA Championship match by a 5-4 decision on Sunday afternoon to the No. 1 seeded Chicago Maroons.

The Eagles now sit 14-4 on the season while the Maroons hold an 18-1 record on the season following the championship win. The Maroons rallied for the win after Emory held a 4-2 lead to start the match.

After the Maroons took the first doubles match on court two, freshman Yanire Marte  and sophomore Izzy Antanavicius took their match on court three with an 8-3 decision to tie the match at one apiece.

The match on court one was a back and forth battle between the two teams needing a tie breaker to decide the winner. The Maroons ended up winning the tiebreaker with a score of 7-5 to take the match on court one, 8-7, and take a 2-1 match lead.

Senior Ilayda Baykan was able to secure the first singles point for the Eagles in the No. 3 position by earning a 6-3, 6-0 win while tying the match 2-2. Following Baykan was Antanavicius on court four helping Emory take a 3-2 match lead. After getting the first-set win 7-5, she took the second set by a 6-4 decision securing another singles point.

On court two, senior Ana Cristina Perez defeated Chicago in her singles match with a 6-4, 6-4 decision earning the Eagles' fourth point of the match. The Maroons followed with singles wins on courts one and six to tie the match at four apiece leaving the match decision to sophomore Iris Berman on court five.

Berman was able to take the first set with a 7-6 decision after winning the tiebreaker by a score of 7-5. Her opponent followed with a 6-1 win in the second set before securing the win for the Maroons with a 7-5 win in set three.

The Eagles will turn their attention to the NCAA Tournament which will begin on Thursday, May 9 with the tournament field being announced on Monday, May 6.